Great Reads

Fey, Tina. Bossypants

Tina Fey is the queen of self-deprecating humor, completely willing to humiliate herself for a laugh. Her new memoir comes complete with cringe-inducing photos of her childhood, humorous stories about her early days in comedy, and tales of her current struggles to balance motherhood and career. Although the book at times seems a bit of a hodgepodge, jumping from tales of her disastrous honeymoon cruise to snippets of “30 Rock” scripts, most of it is laugh-out-loud funny.  You don’t have to be a Tina Fey or “30 Rock” fan to thoroughly enjoy Bossypants.

RA Blog Categories: 

Gordon, Mary. The Love of My Youth

It isn’t an original set-up: two former lovers briefly reunite in Rome and sift through the ashes of their long-lost romance. Yet, Mary Gordon is such a skilled writer that she should have been able to pull it off. Her descriptions of Rome do bring the city to life, and she carefully develops both of the main characters. Still the book never quite lives up to Gordon’s usual standard. 

Part of the problem is the stilted dialogue of Miranda and Adam who speak in arch, overly philosophical sentences that remind you they are fictional constructs and not real people. This is a serious flaw in a novel that’s basically a series of conversations interspersed with flashbacks. In addition, the only real conflict in the book is in the characters’ past, and it doesn’t develop any real momentum until the novel is nearly over.

Despite the lovely descriptions of Rome, even die-hard Gordon fans may want to sit this one out.

RA Blog Categories: 

Gran, Sara. Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead

Sara Gran is a terrific writer. Her first two novellas, Come Closer and Dope, are the kind of gripping reads that keep readers turning pages into the wee hours. Gran excels at creating settings so atmospheric that they nearly become characters in the story. And the strongest aspect of her newest novel, Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead, is the finely drawn post-Katrina setting. She revisits the days just after the hurricane when residents were still stranded on rooftops and creates vividly accurate portraits of the city’s homeless and disaffected youth.

Her heroine is a brilliant, darkly self-destructive private investigator tracking the murderer of DA Vic Willing. While Claire is an intriguing character, the plot is murky and not nearly as fast paced as her first two efforts.  The book may disappoint Gran’s fans a bit, but most readers will be willing to follow Claire through her next adventure as this new series gets underway.

RA Blog Categories: 

Bradbury, Ray. Pleasure to Burn

Bradbury’s 1953 novel “Fahrenheit 451,” a dystopian tale of a grim future in which all intellectual expression and individuality is frowned upon and firemen burn books rather than putting out fires, is rightly considered a classic of the sci-fi genre. In this collection, 16 tales are culled from Bradbury’s own archive, tracing the progression of his work on the themes contained in his masterwork.  Some of the tales are lesser known, such as “Bright Phoenix.” Others, like “The Pedestrian” and “The Mad Wizards of Mars,” will be more familiar. Also included are “Long After Midnight,” featuring an early version of the events and characters of “Fahrenheit 451;” and “The Fireman,” the novella Bradbury used as a base for the novel. This collection serves as an essential companion piece to the novel. Highly recommended. 

RA Blog Categories: 

Just a Thought: Readalikes for Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith, perhaps best known for his “No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency” series, is an author who is difficult to categorize. His characters are fully rounded, though often quirky. His settings are often small towns or villages, but range geographically from Scotland to Africa. His storylines deal with real, very serious issues, but maintain a light and whimsical touch as they do so. Light, but literary, and always engaging, there is little wonder that his books are so very popular. Because of this popularity, we are often asked for suggestions for similar authors. But because of his unique style, it can be very difficult to find authors with the same mix of reality and whimsy. Here are some of the suggestions we’ve been collecting!

 

Bradley, Alan. “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie”

Drayson, Nicholas. “A Guide to the Birds of East Africa”

Edgerton, Clyde. “Lunch at the Piccidilly”

Flagg, Fannie. “Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven”

Narayan, R.K. “The Guide”

Owens, Sharon. “The Tea House on Mulberry Street”

Parkin, Gaile. “Baking Cakes in Kigali”

Simonson, Helen. “Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand”

Smith, D.L. “The Miracles of Santo Fico”

Solomons, Natasha.  “Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English”

Zama, Farahad. “The Marriage Bureau for Rich People 

RA Blog Categories: 

Pages