Read-Alikes

I Funny: A Middle School Story

Author: 
James Patterson

Grades 3+

Jamie Grimm, soon to be the world's greatest stand-up (actually sit-down-in-wheelchair) comedian, lives with his aunt, uncle, and cousin - an extremely boring version of the Durlseys. He has an uncanny ability to make anyone (other than the aforementioned boring Durlsey-esque relatives) laugh. Jamie Grimm just funny

When Uncle Frankie (not the boring one) suggests to Jamie that he compete in The Planet's Funniest Kid Comic contest, he knows he's got to try. His only problem is stage fright! 

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Endangered

Author: 
Eliot Shrefer

Grades 7 & Up

Sophie's mother runs a sanctuary for bonobo chimpanzees in the Democratic Republic of Congo, in Africa. While visiting from America for a few weeks, Sophie rescues a bonobo from a man in the markets of Kinshasa. Otto, the badly abused bonobo, quickly bonds with Sophie, but she knows she must leave him soon to return to her father in the United States. 

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Cinder

Author: 
Marissa Meyer

Reading Levels: Grades 6+

In a complicated post-WWIV world ravaged by a fatal, incurable disease, Earth is separated into independently ruled Commonwealths, completely separated from the Lunars, a somewhat new species spawned from previous moon colonization. 

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Anna Dressed in Blood

Author: 
Kendare Blake

Grades 7+

Cas, teenage ghost killer, moves to a new town to pursue a tip he's gotten on a murdurous ghost known as Anna Dressed in Blood. Cute, personable guy that he is, he quickly gets in with the popular crowd - his plan is to learn as much as he can about Anna - and who tells urban legends better than high schoolers?

Cas doesn't really expect Anna to be any more formidable of a ghost than anything else he's thought. But, of course, Anna is different.

Creepy, spooky, gory... you won't soon forget Anna or her dress of blood.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Marcelo in the Real World

Author: 
Francisco X. Stork

Reading Level: Grades 7+

Marcelo, a high school junior with a somewhat undefined precise location on the autism spectrum, is wildly looking forward to spending his summer working with the ponies at his school, Paterson. He will be the stable man for the school, and in the fall will be promoted to training the ponies to work with all types of disabled students. Marcelo is really looking forward to his summer and senior year at Paterson.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Every You, Every Me

Author: 
David Levithan
Illustrator: 
Jonathan Farmer

Reading Level: Grades 7+

"If I ever ask you to get me a gun, don't. Whatever I say, don't." Looking right into my eyes. "Listen to me, Evan. If I ever ask for that, go get help. If I ever ask for that, you're going to have to save me."

Evan, struggling with the disappearance of his crush (and best friend's girlfriend) Ariel, is thrust into even more emotional turmoil when he begins to receive a series of mysterious photographs.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

The Future of Us

Author: 
Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

Reading Level: Grades 7+

When Emma gets a computer for her birthday, her friend Josh gives her a free CD good for 100 hours of AOL time - totally cool, since it's 1996. Emma signs herself up for her very first AOL account, and logs on to the Internet for the first time. 

The very first page she goes to is called "Facebook," something Emma has never heard of before, but then again she's never been online before - so she begins to explore the site.  What she finds is herself... thirty years in the future - and it's not a pretty one.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Unlocked

Author: 
Ryan G. Van Cleave

Reading Level: Grades 7+

When you're the janitor's kid, you don't have many friends. You don't have any friends. Andy is no different, but when he hears a rumor that the school outcast, Blake, has a gun in his locker, he decides to make friends with Blake. When the boys do become friends, Andy must choose between protecting his only friend and protecting a school full of kids who could care less about him?

Check availability of this book

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

In a Heartbeat

Author: 
Loretta Ellsworth

Reading Level: Grades 6+

Eagan has been figure-skating practically since she could walk, and she's good. Really good. It's just not feasible that she could ever hurt herself while skating. But she does. Coming down from a triple axel, Eagan lands too close to the boards, smacking her head.

Amelia has lived the past few years of her life quietly, without moving much or making too much of a fuss about anything. Amelia has a heart defect, and needs a transplant. One morning, she gets a phone call. The hospital has a heart for her.

Eagan's heart.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Pages