Read-Alikes

The Gardener

Author: 
S.A. Bodeen

Reading Level: Grades 7-10

High school sophomore Mason has a fairly normal life, if you discount the ugly scar marring half of his hulky face; if you discount the disappearance of his father and his mother's drinking habit and tendency to require Mason to be her parent and not vice versa. 

When Mason discovers that the Haven of Peace, the rehabilitation center his mom works at is not just for the elderly, but for brain damaged teens whose parents have given up on them in favor of experimentation on them, his life is turned upside down. 

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

A Small Free Kiss in the Dark

Author: 
Glenda Millard

Reading Level: Grades 7+

When you’re a homeless eleven year-old named Skip, there isn’t anywhere for you to go, because all the shelters are either for women with children, or for men, which you aren’t.  When you’re homeless, a runaway, you never sleep in the same place twice, otherwise someone might be able to figure out where you are and take you back to where you ran away from.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Dust City

Author: 
Robert Paul Weston

Reading Level: Grades 7+

In this futuristic post-fairies fairy tale world, companies mine fairy dust residue in the earth from long-ago magic to sell as minor first aid remedies. Henry seems to be the only citizen unwilling to use this somewhat makeshift fairy dust, as his mother was killed in an accident involving a truckload of the stuff.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Matched

Author: 
Ally Condie

Reading Level:  Grades 8 and up

The Society always makes the right choices for its citizens. Cassia has never doubted the choices made for her, never saw any reason to question the Society in any way. The night of her matching ceremony, where the Society will tell her who she will spend the rest of her life with, the man she is best suited to love, is no different.

And her Match is perfect. Against all the odds, Cassia is Matched with her best friend, Xander. The two of them are happy to be Matched together, and excitedly begin the next steps.

YS Reviewers: 
YS Locations: 

Pages