Subject Guide for Art

Databases

Archive Grid

Nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.

Artcyclopedia

"The Fine Art Search Engine."  A comprehensive database of more than 6,500 different artists represented by 19,000 links directly to an estimated 75,000 works at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.  Search by artist, artwork or museum, or browse artists by movement, medium, subject, nationality or name.

CAMIO

High-quality art images from leading museums around the world, all rights cleared for educational use. Sound, video, and notes are also included in many cases. Images include photographs, costumes, paintings, posters, sculpture, jewelry, prints, and more.

OAIster

A catalog of digital resources from over 1000 organizations. Includes books, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets.

Price It! Antiques and Collectibles

A comprehensive resource for identifying, researching and pricing art, antiques and collectibles.

Weblinks

Architecture

archINFORM

Claims to be the largest database for international architecture. Strong focus on 20th Century buildings.  Browse by architect, location or keyword, or search the text of each entry.

Architecture@ About.com

One of the most comprehensive sites on architecture on the Internet.

Boston College Digital Archives

Over 1500 scanned images for American architecture, over 700 for European architecture.

Chicago Architecture Foundation

Information about the foundation's tours, exhibits and lectures, as well as links to other architectural and design related websites.

Great Buildings Collection

3D models, photographic images and architectural drawings of 1000 buildings and commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.

Fine and Visual Arts

Art Institute of Chicago

Visit the Museum and the School, browse online collections and get information about past and current exhibitions.

Art on the Web

Over 1200 links collected by Dr. Jeffery Howe of Boston University.  A comprehensive list of sites for fine arts and architecture studies.

AskART

The site is listed as "The Artist's Bluebook" with extensive information about more than 26,000 American artists, including biographies, auction prices and a directory that serves the collector.  Particularly useful for information on artists currently working in America.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum - CVA

The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum consists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world.

Dance Heritage Coalition

The Dance Heritage Coalition is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance.

Google Art Project

View thousands of works of art from museums around the world.

International Arts Funding Sites by Artlynx

Here you will find an assortment of Internet sites that are excellent resources for funding individual and organization art projects.

Louvre Museum Official Website

Website and database access in English including the Atlas: database of exhibits with information on all of the 35,000 works of art owned by the museum

National Gallery of Art

Virtual tours of the collection and background essays on the works. Searchable by artist, title, or keywords.

SFMOMA - Rauschenberg Research Project

The Rauschenberg Research Project provides free worldwide access to a wealth of scholarly research and documentation relating to artworks by Robert Rauschenberg in SFMOMA's permanent collection.

Timeline of Art History

Chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. From the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

UbuWeb

UbuWeb is an independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.

Union List of Artists Names by the J. Paul Getty Research Institute

The ULAN currently contains some 200,000 names representing approximately 100,000 individual artists (or "creators," including performance artists, decorative artists, etc.) and architects, cumulated from nine participating Getty documentation projects.

Web Gallery of Art

Over 8,000 digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between 1150 and 1750.

General Art

Art History Resources on the Web

This is one of the most comprehensive art history sites on the Internet. It covers all time periods and art forms.  Created by Chris Witcombe.

Artcyclopedia

An online encyclopedia of information on art and artists.

ArtLex Dictionary of Visual Art

This site is a dictionary of visual art terminology for artists, art students, and art educators. Defines terms from art production, art criticism, art history, aesthetics, and art education. Created by Michael Delahunt, MFA.

Google Art Project

Google Art Project allows you to browse art collections from around the world.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS)

The online catalog of resources held by the Institution's libraries, archives, and other specialized research centers. Including Art Inventories, which provides information on over 335,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide; a large photographic archive that documents the work of approximately 10,000 American artists in 127,000 black-and-white images; manuscripts and specialized bibliographies

Museums

Art Institute of Chicago Special and Digital Collections

Search the collection at the Art Institute of Chicago.

Diego Rivera Virtual Museum

In English and Spanish

Guggenheim

The official website of the Guggenheim Museum in New York.

J Paul Ghetty Museum

Browse collections at the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, CA.

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Search free full-text publications by the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Museum Stuff

Locate museums worldwide, by region or collection.

Photography

Corbis: The Place for Pictures on the Internet

The Corbis Collection currently contains more than 25 million images, from professional photographers, museums, cultural institutions, and public and private collections in the world, including: the National Gallery - London, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the State Hermitage Museum and the Bettmann Collection.

George Eastman House: International Museum of Photography and Film

Timeline and history of photography. Telnet link to Eastman's database of photographic holdings.

Photo.net

Links to online photography exhibits, equipment reviews, and photography "how tos".