Subject Guide for Books and Literature

Databases

Bloom's Literary Reference Online

Hundreds of Bloom's essays, which examine the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world. This database also contains an archive of more than 38,000 characters, as well as extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, and genres.

Literature Resource Center

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline... covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

NoveList Plus

Use this readers' advisory tool to find a good book by topic, authors similar to your favorites, and book discussion guides. Also includes Novelist K-8.

Weblinks

Awards

BookPrizeInfo

Search by title or prize.

Book Clubs and Reading Groups

Love to Read. Finding Books and Book Clubs

Internet Public Library pathfinder and links to books and book clubs.

Book News and Reviews

Barnes and Noble Review

An online publication with reviews and features from established critics, reviewers, and columnists.

Book Page

A monthly collection of general interest book reviews.  

Genrefluent

Brief reviews of books by genre. Features items for teens.

LibraryThing

Create an account and make your own catalog of books you own or have read. Share book reviews and ratings with others, get reading recommendations from like-minded readers, or talk to other book lovers on this social book site.

New York Times Book Review
Overbooked

Specializes in literary and genre fiction information.  Maintained by volunteers.

Books and Literature

Booklist

The Web site of the American Library Association's Booklist provides access to reviews of books for adults, young adults, and children, written by librarians. The overall ALA Web site is searchable, and you can browse the reviews by category (Adult, Youth, Nonfiction, etc.).

Cliffsnotes.com

180 literature guides online for free viewing. You may also purchase the titles for downloading or printing.

Modern English Collection

From the University of Virginia, this large collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest.

Online Literary Criticism Collection

From the Internet Public Library, this site contains over 4745 critical and biographical Web sites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, by nationality, or by literary period.

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature

From a professor of English at California State University Stanislaus, an excellent source for information on specific authors by period of American history from the Colonial Period to the Present. Additional information including obituaries for some authors, introductory essays for each period (e.g., Early 19th Century Transcendentalism, The Harlem Renaissance) and bibliographies.

ReadingGroupGuides.com

Reading group guides, discussion, questions, advice and ideas.

Bookstores and Used and Rare Books

Abebooks.com

Online marketplace for used, rare, and out-of-print books.

Alibris

"Comprehensive source of new, used, and hard- to- find books, music, and movies."

Amazon.com

Search the largest bookseller online for rare and other used books.

BookFinder.com

Free one-stop book search site to the collection of over 150 million books.

Independent Bookstores in Illinois

Listing of bookstores.

Powell's Books

Web site of large independent bookstore which began in Chicago.  In-print and out-of-print books. Includes author interviews and staff picks.

Citing Sources

Citing Sources

Duke University online guide to citations from four of the best known style manuals.

Online Writing Lab

Purdue University writing lab information on citations, grammar, spelling, etc.

Literary Resources

A.K.A.

Author pseudonyms, aliases, nicknames, etc.

Illinois! Illinois!

A 2233 item annotated bibliography of fiction about Illinois.

Internet Public Library Literary Criticism Collection

Links to critical and biographical websites about authors and their works.

Online Books

Bartelby.com

Great books online.  Searchable source for free online books.

Internet Public Library Online Texts

Links to recommended resources for online texts, including books, poetry, stories, and magazines.

Print Magazines

Books and Literature

American Scholar
Analog Science Fiction/Science Fact
Asimov's Science Fiction
Hudson Review
Kenyon Review
New York Review of Books
New York Times Book Review
Poetry
Poets & Writers
Reader's Digest
Reader's Digest Large Print
Writer
Yale Review