Subject Guide for Careers and Employment

Weblinks

Career Information

America's Career InfoNet

"Find wages and employment trends, occupational requirements, state by state labor market conditions, millions of employer contacts nationwide, and the most extensive career resources library online."

Career Guide to Industries

Bureau of Labor Statistics' companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook. "The Career Guide to Industries provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook, and lists of organizations that can provide additional information."

Career Key

Take the Career Key, a professional test or quiz. It measures your skills, abilities, talents, values, interests, and personality. You will identify promising jobs and get accurate career information about these jobs.

Illinois Career Resource Network

Illinois Department of Employment Security's web site for career exploration.

Job Hunter's Bible

Supplement to Dick Bolles' What Color is My Parachute? Includes interactive tests, resume writing tips, and how to research companies. Also includes the Parachute Library, a selection of job hunting articles written by Mr. Bolles.

O*NET

"The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resource functions, such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training with current workplace needs. Information in O*NET is available for over 950 occupations."

Occupational Outlook Handbook

"The Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations."

Company Research

Researching Companies Online
Thomas Register

Search the well-known manufacturers directory.

Investing

Researching Companies Online
Thomas Register

Search the well-known manufacturers directory.

Job Searching Sites

About.com's Job Searching

Guide to job searching which contains general job search information from how to write a resume to advice on using headhunters to tips for finding a job.

JobStar Central

Developed by California public libraries and supported by the Wall Street Journal's careerjournal.com, this site offers resume advice, career and salary information, and job links

Riley Guide

"The Riley Guide is a directory of employment and career information sources and services on the Internet." Unique A-Z Index with links to job search tips, career information, and job leads.

Local Employment Agencies

College of Lake County Career & Placement Service

The Career and Placement Services office offers job search and career assistance to students, alumni and Lake County job seekers.  Call (847) 543-2059 to schedule a free appointment with a counselor.

Illinois Employment and Training Centers

IETCs provide unemployment insurance, recruitment, counseling, outplacement, training and information services.

Illinois workNet

Great site filled with links to information and videos on finding and applying for jobs, building resumes.  Offers a wide array of services for all job seekers, including laid off workers.

Jewish Vocational Services

Offers non-sectarian employment and training services for people in the Chicagoland area.

Salary Information

Illinois Wage Data

Salary information for hundreds of occupations in Illinois.

Occupational Wage Tables

Published by the Department of Labors' Bureau of Labor Statistics, this guide has employment and wage estimates for over 700 occupations.

Salary Calculator

Calculates cost of living comparisons in hundreds of U.S. and international cities.

Salary Information

Provides links and descriptions of 200+ salary surveys or summaries.