Subject Guide for Entertainment

Weblinks

Local Arts and Entertainment

Chicago Creative Directory

Chicagoland resource guide for the creative directory.

Local Arts, Culture and Entertainment

From the Highland Park Information Gateway, a listing of art, movies, music, theatre and literature groups.

Movies

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Information on Oscar nominiees and winners, the history of the awards, voting, etc.

AllMovie.com

Get reviews and watch trailers.

IMDB

Comprehensive film and TV database featuring in-depth reveiws, biographies, episode listings, actor filmographies, and more.

MovieFone.com

Check local showtimes, watch interviews and trailers, and read reviews.

MovieSpoiler.com

Your guide to plot twists and suprise endings.

MRQE

The Internet's largest database of movie reviews for over 80,000 titles, including current releases.

New York Times Movie Reviews

Browse or search 28,000 New York Times movie reviews.

Roger Ebert's Movie Reviews

Reviews, interviews, and essays from Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times.

Radio

National Public Radio (WBEZ): 91.5 FM
WBBM: 780 AM
WGN: 720 AM
WLS: 890 AM

Television

ABC (WLS): Channel 7
CBS (WBBM): Channel 2
CLTV: Channel 53
Comcast Cable Services
Encyclopedia of Television

Sponsored by the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago. Includes over 1000 original essays describing programs and people, historical moments, policy disputes, and special topics. Use the A-Z index.

FOX (WFLD): Channel 32
NBC (WMAQ): Channel 5
PBS (WTTW): Channel 11
TV Guide: Listings

Find local television listings.

WGN: Channel 9

Theatre

American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment 1870-1928

"A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini."

Chicago Plays

Website of the League of Chicago Theaters that includes a schedule of Chicago theaters and information about HotTix discount tickets.

Chicago Reader's Guide to Arts and Entertainment: Theater

Weekly recommendations and reviews from the Chicago Reader's Theater critics.

Dramatists Play Service

A play licensing agency, at this site you can browse or search the catalog by cast size, title, author, keyword or ISBN, order scripts and apply for performance rights online, and find out where plays from the catalog are being performed.

Internet Broadway Database

A comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway dating from the 1700s to the present.  This site includes all program information about each production as well as historical information about theaters and fun facts related to Broadway.

Morton Grove Public Library Play Index

Index to plays in collections at the Morton Grove Public Library.

Playbill

Press releases and information on plays in production throughout the country.  Also includes feature stories on the theatre industry, as well as news and information about theatre awards.

Tony Awards

The official website for Broadway's highest honors.

Print Magazines

Entertainment

American Record Guide
American Theatre
Billboard
Broadcasting and Cable
Time out. Chicago
Entertainment Weekly
Film Comment
Film Quarterly
People Weekly
Sight & Sound