Subject Guide for Genealogy

Databases

Ancestry Library Edition

Genealogy research.  Census records, social security death index, military records, slave narratives.... In-Library use only.

Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper

Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1849-1984.

HeritageQuest

Search U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.

New York Times Historical Newspaper

The New York Times in its entirety from 1857 through 1999. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Advertisements and photos included.

Weblinks

Genealogical associations

Association of Professional Genealogists
Board for Certification of Genealogists

These directories of certified genealogists may be useful for patrons who want an expert's assistance

Genealogy

Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System

Index to very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War.

Cook County (Illinois) Genealogy

Search birth, death, and marriage records from 1872 for Cook County, Illinois.

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet

THE source for genealogical resources on the web. A subject index to over 180,000 links world-wide. A section for beginners & lots of free how-to information.

FamilySearch

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has compiled extensive genealogical resources. Searchable index of these resources, research assistance, subject guide to genealogy web sites, card catalog for the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Illinois Civil War Muster and Descriptive Rolls Database

Index of soldiers with full-text transcription of regimental histories. The index provides name, rank, company, unit, and place of residence.

Illinois State Archives

Search military records, marriage and death record indexes, and court record indexes for your Illinois ancestors.

Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild

Full-text transcription of over 5,000 ships passenger lists. Database of over 1/2 million names. Passenger lists from 1600s-1900s.

JewishGen

World-wide index of Jewish genealogy resources, forum for discussion groups, surname index and ShetlSeeker database.

Roots Web Genealogical Data Cooperative

"The Internet's oldest and largest genealogy resource." Excellent web site for beginners. Volunteer projects have created valuable local resources. The Social Security Death Index at this web site is highly recommended.

The National Archives' Genealogy Page

The National Archives and Records Administration web site. An index to census, immigration, land, military, naturalization, social security, vital records, and much more.

The Statue of Liberty- Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.

Archive of 22 million people who passed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924.  You can search for passengers without registering, but free registration allows you to do more.  Database provides a text version of the manifest information, and may provide a scanned image of the manifest page, and some ship pictures

USGenWeb Project

Genealogy sources arranged by state and county. Tombstone and map projects are just two of the many very useful resources at this web site.

Vital Records Information United States

Birth, death, marriage, and divorce records for states and U.S. territories, searchable by geographic location. A good site, but be aware that surname search boxes for commercial sites frequently appear on this web site's pages and may be confusing.

WorldGenWeb Project

World wide version of USGENWEB, with links to genealogy resources from countries around the world. Place name indexes, surname queries, mailing lists, maps.

Libraries & genealogical societies

Genealogical Research in the Illinois State Archive

An index to their genealogy resources, census, military, land sales, and vital records.

Illinois State Genealogical Society

Links to Illinois genealogy resources.

Jewish Genealogical Society of Illinois

How-to information & links to resources.

Lake County (IL) Genealogical Society

Links to the resources, queries, list of area researchers, monthly society meeting schedule & topics.