Subject Guide for Government and Politics

Weblinks

Federal Information

2011 Statistical Abstract

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

FedStats

Provides access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies.

 

FedWorld

Index to Federal government sites, agencies, departments, etc.

GPO - U.S. Government Printing Office

Code of Federal Regulations, Compilation of Presidential Documents, Congressional Bills, Congressional Documents, Congressional Hearings, Congressional Record, Congressional Reports, Economic Indicators, Federal Register, Public and Private Laws, United States Code ...

The White House
Thomas (Library of Congress)

Full text of pending and passed legislation.

THOMAS - Legislative Information on the Internet

In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress

U.S. Senate
United States House of Representatives
USA.gov

Home page of the U.S. Government's Official Web Portal for all government transactions, services, and information.

 

Foreign and International Information

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments

The CIA publishes and updates this online directory regularly and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.

Europa: Gateway to the European Union

The official web site of the European Union with access to information published by all EU institutions, agencies and bodies.

 

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States

A complete and official listing of the foreign consular offices in the United States, and recognized consular officers compiled by the U.S. Department of State.

Library of Congress Country Studies

A continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army. This online series presently contains studies of 101 countries and regions. Dates of studies vary.

The World Factbook

The CIA's World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. It includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

United Nations
Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions

Find a U.S. Embassy or Consulate anywhere in the world.

General Political Information

ACLU Congressional Scorecard

Provides a quick summary of civil liberties measures and how elected officials have voted.

CSpan

Capitol Hill, The White House and National Politics

 

FactCheck.org

FactCheck.org monitors the accuracy of claims by politicians, political ads and chain e-mails.

 

Federal Election Commission

The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.

Illinois State Board of Elections

Information for voters, candidates, teachers, businesses, reporters...

League of Women Voters of the U.S.

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

OpenSecrets.Org: Money in Politics

A nonpartisan guide to money’s influence on U.S. elections and public policy.

Project Vote Smart

Tracks the performance of over 13,000 political leaders.

Government and Politics

Council on Foreign Relations

The nonpartisan think tank provides information and analysis on national security and peace at a global level.

GobiernoUSA
Social Security Online

The official website of the Social Security Administration.

Highland Park & Lake County

Government Officials

Contact information for government officials.

Lake County
Local Government Information

 From the Highland Park Information Gateway

Illinois

Find-It Illinois!

Searchable State of Illinois government agency documents.

Illinois Department of Professional Regulation

Searchable IDPR profession database offering information on professionals who hold a license in the State of Illinois and are regulated by this department.

Illinois General Assembly

Includes links to Public Acts, Bills and Illinois Compiled Statutes, house and senate members and more.

State of Illinois Home Page

Law Subject Guides, Search Engines, and Documents

Thomas (Library of Congress)

Full text of pending and passed legislation.

Political Parties

Democratic Party
Democratic Party of Illinois
Illinois Republican Party
Libertarian Party
Libertarian Party of Illinois
Republican Party