Subject Guide for History and Biography

Databases

ABC-Clio American History

Explore an era or analyze an event in American History.

African American History Online

Includes primary source documents, images, timelines, biographies and thousands of entries on African American history.

American Indian History Online

Contains tribe Index, culture area index, biographies, events, primary sources, images and learning centers.

Ancient and Medieval History Online

This database covers six civilizations: Africa, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Mesopotamia, and Mesoamerica from the early Hominids 3 to 5 million years ago to flourishing cultures in 600 CE.

Chelsea House Biographies Online

Chelsea House Biographies Online is the one-stop online resource for all the biography needs of middle and high school students, or anyone interested in discovering the lives of these fascinating people. 

Daily Life Online

A social history resource; how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives shaped ours

Popular Culture Universe

An authoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture from the 1900s to the present.  Browse by decade or search by item or event.

Weblinks

History and Biography

American Memory from the Library of Congress

Access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Collections include Advertising, African American History, Architecture, Landscape, Cities, Towns, Culture, Folklife, Environment, Conservation, Government, Law, Immigration, American Expansion, Literature, Maps, Native American History, Performing Arts, Music, Presidents, Religion, Sports, Recreation, Technology, Industry, War, Military, and Women's History.

Best of History Web Sites

An award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.

Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

David Rumsey Map Collection

The historical map collection has over 48,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the world, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Founders Online

Explore online the historical documents of the Founders of the United States of America. Sponsored by the US National Archives.

Making of America

A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this collection contains 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.

Newspapers and Magazines

Making of America

A thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this collection contains 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.

Special subjects

Black History Month - History.com

Black History resources from the History Channel.

Remembering the Triangle Factory Fire

Original documents and secondary sources on the Triangle Fire, held by the Cornell University Library.

Voices of the Holocaust

Some of the earliest known oral histories of the Holocaust, available through this online archive. Sponsored by the Illinois Institute of Technology.

State and Local History

Chicago History Museum
Encyclopedia of Chicago
Highland Park Local History Resources
Illinois State Historical Society