Subject Guide for Legal

Databases

Lexis Nexis Library Express

Over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources including the New York Times, law reviews, legal cases and hundreds more. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Legal information is available in-library only.

Weblinks

Attorneys

Attorney Locate

Lawyer directory endorsed by the Association of Trial Lawyers of America.

Lake County Bar Association

Search for an attorney by practice area.

Lawyers.com

Martindale-Hubbell's free "find-a-lawyer" service "designed specifically for individuals and small businesses.

Martindale-Hubbell

Locate lawyers and law firms by name or specialty.

Court Decisions

Illinois Court Reports
Supreme Court of the United States
United States Court of Appeals 7th Circuit
United States Federal Courts Home Page
United States Supreme Court

via FindLaw

Villanova Federal Court Locator

Gateway to information on the federal courts.

Federal Information

Federal Digital System

Access to the Code of Federal Regulations,Compilation of Presidential Documents,Congressional Bills,Congressional Documents,Congressional Hearings,Congressional Record,United States Code, and more

 
Thomas (Library of Congress)

Full text of pending and passed legislation.

United States Code

via Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute

Forms

All About Forms

Provided by Consolidated Legal Concepts, Inc. who "offer more than 2,000 FREE legal forms and answers to common legal and financial questions."

FindLaw Forms

Provides a collection of generic legal forms.

Lake County Clerk of the Circuit Court Foms

Lake County forms for Adult Name Change, Civil/Small Claims, Criminal/Traffic, Divorce/Family, Minor Name Change and Probate.

Lake County Court Forms

From the 19th Judicial Circuit.  Includes Divorce, Child Support, Criminal Felony, Misdemeanor, DUI, Probate and Traffic forms.

SIU's Self-Help Legal Center

For Illinois and Lake County forms.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Forms

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service forms online.

Highland Park and Lake County

19th Judicial Circuit Court

Illinois judicial and legal information; special focus on Lake and McHenry counties.

Highland Park Ordinances
Lake County Ordinances

Illinois

Illinois Compiled Statutes
Illinois Public Acts

Links provide current legislation passed by the Illinois General Assembly. Updates the Illinois Compiled Statutes.

Law Subject Guides, Search Engines, and Documents

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History & Diplomacy

From Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library, the Avalon Project puts legal, historical and diplomatic documents together in one place.  Search for materials by subject and by time period.

Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute

Recent Supreme Court decisions, a growing number of historic decisions, and a searchable U.S. Code can be found here

Hieros Gamos

Large database of legal resources and information.

Instituto de Investigaciones Juridicas

Spanish language legal information resource.

Internet Law Library

Over 7,500 links to law resources on the Internet.

LawCrawler

Search engine for legal information sites.

Thomas (Library of Congress)

Full text of pending and passed legislation.

Legal

Chicago Daily Law Bulletin
FindLaw

"The FindLaw index is quite extensive, with links to many legal sources, including codes, case law, legal associations, specialty area materials, law reviews, law schools, law firms and much more! Visitors can search FindLaw itself, as well as search the full text of law reviews online. Supreme Court decisions from 1937 onward are also searchable."

Legal Information

ABA Law Info

American Bar Association's "information on legal topics that affect your daily life."

All Law

Legal information arranged in broad subject areas, include articles, forms and web links.

Illinois Legal Aid

Enter a legal problem and zip code to find help.

Lake County Center for Self-Representation

Offers information and public resources, with a special focus on people representing themselves in court (pro se litigants).

Lawhelp

Resources for low cost legal aid.

Nolo Press Self-Help Law Center

Legal news and access to an online legal encyclopedia

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Portal

Forms, Laws, Resources and News.