close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Storytimes

Baby Booktime


For NEWBORNS TO WALKERS


Introduce your baby to the sounds and rhythms of language with stories, music, and rhymes. Delight and stimulate your baby's senses and build a foundation for a lifelong love of books and reading. Each class will end with a 1/2 hour of play featuring age-appropriate toys and time for socilization

Second and fourth Friday of each month.
10:30 - 11:30 a.m.

Registration required. Highland Park Public Library cardholders only.  Register in person at the Youth Services Desk or by phone at 847-681-7030. 

2020 Sessions

Winter:  January 3 - March 20. Registration begins December 2
Spring:  April 10 - June 26.  Registration begins March 2.


First Steps


For walking toddlers to 2 1/2 year-olds


Enjoy an interactive storytime with picture books, songs, fingerplays, puppets, and parachute play. Nurture your toddler’s love of books and encourage him or her to learn numbers, colors, sounds, and new words. Class will end with a half hour of play and time to meet other parents, caregivers, and toddlers.

First and third Tuesday OR first and third Friday of each month.
9:15 - 10:00 a.m. OR 10:15 - 11:00 a.m.

Registration required. Highland Park Public Library cardholders only.  Register in person at the Youth Services Desk or by phone at 847-681-7030. 

2020 Sessions

Winter:  January 3 - March 20. Registration begins December 2
Spring:  April 3 - June 19.  Registration begins March 2.


Tales for Tots


For ages 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 with parent or caregiver


Give your preschooler a head start with this program packed with great stories, puppets, flannel boards, music and rhymes. Share this storytime together, and build language and listening skills.

10:00 - 10:30 a.m. Mondays or Thursdays

Registration required. Highland Park Public Library cardholders only.  Register in person at the Youth Services Desk or by phone at 847-681-7030. 

2020 Sessions

Winter:  January 6 - February 20. Registration begins December 2
Spring:  March 23 - May 7.  Registration begins March 2.


Storytime Live


For ages 3 1/2 to 6


Drop off your independent preschoolers or kindergartners for a special storytime! They will enjoy great stories, puppets, flannel boards, music and activities that foster pre-reading skills, broaden social skills and encourage a love of books.

10:45 - 11:15 a.m. Mondays or 1:30 - 2:00 p.m. Thursdays

Free! Drop in class. No registration necessary!

2020 Sessions

Winter:  January 6 - February 20
Spring:  March 23 - May 7. 

Upcoming Storytimes
Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 10, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Apr 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Mon, Apr 13, 10:45am - 11:15am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 16, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 17, 9:15am - 10:00am

Canceled
Fri, Apr 17, 10:15am - 11:00am

Canceled
Mon, Apr 20, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Mon, Apr 20, 10:45am - 11:15am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 9:15am - 10:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 10:15am - 11:00am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Apr 27, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Mon, Apr 27, 10:45am - 11:15am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 9:30am - 10:00am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 30, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Fri, May 01, 9:15am - 10:00am

Canceled
Fri, May 01, 10:15am - 11:00am

Canceled
Mon, May 04, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Mon, May 04, 10:45am - 11:15am

Canceled
Tue, May 05, 9:15am - 10:00am

Canceled
Tue, May 05, 10:15am - 11:00am

Canceled
Thu, May 07, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, May 07, 1:30pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Fri, May 08, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Fri, May 15, 9:15am - 10:00am

Canceled
Fri, May 15, 10:15am - 11:00am

Canceled
Mon, May 18, All day

Canceled
Tue, May 19, 9:15am - 10:00am

Canceled
Tue, May 19, 10:15am - 11:00am

Canceled
Fri, May 22, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, May 26, 9:30am - 10:00am

Tue, Jun 02, 9:15am - 10:00am
Brenner Room

Tue, Jun 02, 10:15am - 11:00am
Brenner Room

Fri, Jun 05, 9:15am - 10:00am
Brenner Room

Fri, Jun 05, 10:15am - 11:00am
Brenner Room

Fri, Jun 12, 10:30am - 11:30am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jun 15, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jun 15, 10:45am - 11:15am
Brenner Room

Tue, Jun 16, 9:15am - 10:00am
Brenner Room

Tue, Jun 16, 10:15am - 11:00am
Brenner Room

Thu, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Thu, Jun 18, 1:30pm - 2:00pm
Brenner Room

Fri, Jun 19, 9:15am - 10:00am
Brenner Room

Fri, Jun 19, 10:15am - 11:00am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jun 22, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jun 22, 10:45am - 11:15am
Brenner Room

Tue, Jun 23, 9:30am - 10:00am

Thu, Jun 25, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Thu, Jun 25, 1:30pm - 2:00pm
Brenner Room

Fri, Jun 26, 10:30am - 11:30am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jun 29, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jun 29, 10:45am - 11:15am
Brenner Room

Thu, Jul 02, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Thu, Jul 02, 1:30pm - 2:00pm
Brenner Room

Mon, Jul 06, 10:00am - 10:30am
Brenner Room

Mon, Jul 06, 10:45am - 11:15am
Brenner Room

Tue, Jul 07, 9:15am - 10:00am
Brenner Room

Tue, Jul 07, 10:15am - 11:00am
Brenner Room