Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Read with Your Library Print & Audio Books Downloadable & Streaming Content Interlibrary Loans (ILL) Periodicals Perfect Picks Annual Staff Picks Book Club Resources Loans & Fines

Monarch Award Winners

The Monarch Award is given annually (beginning in 2005) to an author and/or illustrator of a book voted as their favorite by participating K - 3 children in Illinois. The award is sponsored by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA) and is designed to encourage Illinois students to read critically and to become familiar with children's books, authors and illustrators.

The award is named in honor of the Monarch Butterfly, Illinois state insect. The butterfly symbolizes growth, change and freedom qualities that also characterize the emergent reader.

Current Nominees

Past Winners

2020 Selznick, Brian Baby Monkey, Private Eye.
2019 Reynolds, Aaron Creepy Pair of Underwear!
2018 Barnett, Mac Sam and Dave Dig a Hole.
2017 DiPucchio, Kelly Gaston.
2016 Biedrzycki, David Breaking News: Bear Alert.
2015 Daywalt, Drew The Day the Crayons Quit.
2014 Murray, Laura The Gingerbread Man Loose in the School.
2013 Litwin, Eric Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes.
2012 Barton, Chris Shark vs. Train.
2011 Thomas, Jan Rhyming Dust Bunnies.
2010 Watt, Mélanie Scaredy Squirrel.
2009 O’Malley, Kevin Once Upon a Cool Motorcycle Dude.
2008 Van Dusen, Chris If I Built a Car.
2007 Buehner, Caralyn Superdog: The Heart of a Hero.
2006 Kasza, Keiko My Lucky Day.
2005 Shannon, David David Gets in Trouble.

Official Monarch Award Site