Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Read with Your Library Print & Audio Books Downloadable & Streaming Content Interlibrary Loans (ILL) Periodicals Perfect Picks Annual Staff Picks Book Club Resources Loans & Fines

Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award

blue state of illinois with RCYFBA on it

The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades four through eight in participating Illinois schools.   The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois, for nearly 50 years.

Current Nominees

Past Winners

2020 Gratz, Alan Refugee.
2019 Reynolds, Jason Ghost.
2018 Nielsen, Jennifer A. A Night Divided.
2017 Alexander, Kwame The Crossover.
2016 Evans, Richard Paul Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25.
2015 Lu, Marie Legend.
2014 Palacio, R.J. Wonder.
2013 Telgemeier, Raina Smile.
2012 Cody, Matthew Powerless.
2011 Collins, Suzanne The Hunger Games.
2010 Hahn, Mary Downing All the Lovely Bad Ones: A Ghost Story.
2009 Riordan, Rick The Lightning Thief.
2008 Sonnenblick, Jordan Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie.
2007 Weeks, Sarah So B. It: A Novel.
2006 Paolini, Christopher Eragon.
2005 Hiaasen, Carl Hoot.
2004 Horowitz, Anthony Stormbreaker.
2003 Anderson, Laurie Halse Fever, 1793.
2002 Sachar, Louis Holes.
2001 Rowling, J.K. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.
2000 Levine, Gail Carson Ella Enchanted.
1999 Clements, Andrew Frindle.
1998 Park, Barbara Mick Harte Was Here.
1997 Robinson, Barbara The Best [Worst] School Year Ever.
1996 Lowry, Lois The Giver.
1995 Cooney, Caroline Flight #116 is Down.
1994 Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds Shiloh.
1993 Spinelli, Jerry Maniac Magee: A Novel.
1992 Lowry, Lois Number the Stars.
1991 Dahl, Roald Matilda.
1990 Hahn, Mary Downing Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story.
1989 Wright, Betty Ren The Dollhouse Murders.
1988 Banks, Lynne Reid The Indian in the Cupboard.

Official Rebecca Caudill Award Site